Northwood Sardine Run 2016

Our annual Interhouse cross country competition (more popularly known as “the Sardine Run” due to our running a section along Virginia Beach) was held on Thursday 24 November.

Despite a sweltering Wednesday and early morning rain on Thursday the weather played its part in giving us a mild windless day for the run. Our Matrics were unable to participate due to their writing thee Senior Certificate exams but we managed a field of 7y00 runners so well done to those who participated. Unfortunately there were several students with the seemingly tacit support of their parents, who did not regard this event as being an important one in their school calendar. I remind these people that the participation is about a sense of belonging, sharing and developing of school spirit more than just a run.

My thanks to all the willing staff who assisted as officials and to those who participated, your contribution was appreciated.

Congratulations to Sabelo Hlomuka (Kings House) on winning the senior competition and the Dave Piper Trophy, and to Musa Moyo (Bishops House) as the overall winner and Junior Champion taking home the Tristan Rasmussen Trophy.

A final congratulations goes to Crusaders House for winning both the Senior and Junior Divisions of this event – well done boys.



  U14 U15 U16 U17 OPEN
1 N. Shoba (C) M. Moyo (B) C. Leven (B) S. Hlomuka (K) T. Mabaso (C)
2 M. Hadebe (C) M. Jani (C) C. Souchon (C) T. King (Kn) M. Rossiter (C)
3 D. Ferreira (B) S. Mazwi (B) D. Hansen ( Kn) A. Magakane (C) M. Talbot (C)
4 J. Maehler (Kn) M. Mfeka (Kn) C. Ciaglia (B) S. Rala-Rala (B) N. Goorchuran (C)
5 B. Peter (B) R. McLean (K) H. Ndumiso (Kn) A. Chiradza (C) S. Ncwani (B)
6 C. Baird (C) L. Singh (C) S. Gasa (C) J. Kritzinger (B) F. Ahmed (B)
7 M. Msomi (B) T. Laaks (B) S. Ngubane (Kn) R. Hewit (K) R. Poggenpoel (B)
8 H. van Heerden (C) O. Mogale(K) K. Matthew (C) H. Scholler (C) R. Lalloo (K)
9 U. Jadwat (C) J. Chigonga (C) W. Mtolo (C) R. Weersma (C) M. Geall (K)
10 O. John-Osunkwo (C) S. Dlamini (Kn) K. Mazibuko (C) C. Wallace (Kn) D. Cockburn (Kn)



Pos Name Time House   Pos. Name Time House
1 Musa Moyo 20:07:53 Bishops   11 Tyrone Laaks 22:49 Bishops
2 Sabelo Hlomuka 20:38:41 Kings   12 Sakhe Mjali 23:06 Crusaders
3 Thomas King 20:55 Knights   13 Cameron Souchon 23:24 Crusaders
4 Andile Mogakane 21:00 Crusaders   14 Dylan Hanssen 23:33 Knights
5 Nyasha Jani 21:10 Crusaders   15 Mnqobi Shoba 23:35 Crusaders
6 Simtembile Mazwi 21:34 Bishops   16 Mawande Radebe 23:49 Crusaders
7 Mfundo Mfeka 21:49 Knights   17 Cameron Ciaglia 24:14 Bishops
8 Connor Leven 21:34 Bishops   18 Ndumiso Hlombe 24:15 Kings
9 Rohaan McLean 21:57 Kings   19 Samkelo Gasa 24;20 Crusaders
10 Liven singh 22:00 Crusaders   20 Dylan Ferreira 24:21 Bishops


SENIOR RUNNER      Sabelo Hlomuka           D. Piper Trophy

JUNIOR RUNNER     Musawekosi Moyo       T. Rasmussen Trophy

WINNING HOUSE      Bishops                          K. Forder Trophy