Northwood Sportsmen’s Banquet 2015

The 2015 Sportsmen’s banquet is always the highlight of our sporting calendar as this event enables Northwood to honour our students who have participated and achieved in their various sporting codes.

The “never-say-die” attitude of our boys has ensured that our 1st Water Polo team recorded a memorable win over Clifton, our Northwood Surfing team won the KZN Schools Surfing Championship again and our Chess team won both the Durban and District Chess Tournament as well as the KZN Top Schools Tournament. The list continues with the Northwood Cycling team winning the KZN Inter Schools   Eliminator Series and our 1st Indoor Hockey team won the KZN Indoor Hockey League for the third time in four years.   Many Northwood boys did us proud by being selected for various National Teams, High Performance Camps or Squads.

We take this opportunity to thank the MIC, Coaches, students and parents for their support and commitment to sport at Northwood.

AF Berruti Trophy Junior Chess Champion Ananta Reddy
AF Berruti Trophy Senior Chess Champion Kyran Appanna
Ladies’ Group Silver Bugle Best Instrumentalist Sphephile Zungu
Setzkorn Trophy Most Improved Instrumentalist Anthony van Veenhuyzen
Van Vianen Trophy Most Dedicated Bandsman Sphephile Zungu
Robin Palmer Most Diligent Section Leader Jared Gangadaran
Morgan Evens Trophy Drum Major Quinn Kakora
Lindsay Lyle Memorial Floating Trophy Dedication to First Aid Matthew Ross
Cyclist of the Year Le Roux Trophy Cayde Muldoon
A.C. Hansen Memorial Trophy Junior Victor Ludorum (Athletics) Keane Fourie
Pevsner Trophy Senior Victor Ludorum (Athletics) Travis Edmonstone
Lux Gordhan Trophy Athlete of the Year Luyanda Mngadi
BBHS Trophy Squash player of the year Hugh Cunningham
Northwood Trophy Junior Basketball Player of the Year Lwazi Motha
Van Den Berg Trophy Senior Basketball Players of the Year Nkanyiso Ntombela
Northwood Surfing Trophy Junior Surfer Jarod Hook
Vince King Trophy Senior Surfer Bevan Willis
Tommy Schutte BBHS Trophy Golfer of the Year Liam McIlroy
BBHS Trophy Senior Tennis Trophy Dylan Blair Runner up: Neil Henderson
BBHS Trophy Junior Tennis Trophy Jordan Theron Runnerup: Nic Deeb
Wayne Gregory Floating Trophy Most Improved Tennis Player Matthew Ross / Keagan Traehaven
Sugen Naidoo Trophy Senior Volleyball Player of the Year Aaron Maistry
Northwood School Trophy Most Dedicated U14 Cricketer Finn Whittle
Mr N.A.E. Wickenden Trophy Most Improved Cricketer (U15) Wondor Mtolo
Northwood Cricket Award Best Performance (Junior) Nicholas Wright
BA King Trophy Most Improved Senior Cricketer Preston Abrahams
Northwood Cricket Award Best Performance (Senior) Shaied Cariem
JA Smith Cricket Trophy Senior Cricketer of the Year Blayde Capell
Northwood Trophy Most Improved Junior Hockey Player Marco Dalle-Vedove
Northwood Trophy Junior Hockey Player of the Year Cade Leaity
De Haas Trophy Hockey Team of Year U16A
Neil Todden Trophy Most Improved Hockey Player Cole Pretorius
Northwood Trophy Senior Hockey Player of the Year Sacha de Marigny
The Gallagher Trophy Indoor Hockey Player of the Year  
Pienaar Trophy Soccer Team of the Year 1st Team
Jade Pienaar Trophy Most Improved Soccer Player Michael Comitis
Tommy Bilson Trophy Soccer Player of the Year Ntobeko Sibisi
Kevin Greef Memento Most Dedicated U15 Rugby Player Burgerd Hamman
Olufsen Trophy Rugby Team of the Year U14B
Correia Trophy Most Improved Senior Rugby Player Philup Jansen
RR Commaille Trophy Rugby Player of the Year (Senior) Victor Huurman
Bruce Nel Memorial Trophy Junior Victor Ludorum (Swimming) Connor Maxwell / James Benskin
BBHS Trophy Senior Victor Ludorum (Swimming) Ryan Symington
Northwood Trophy Most Improved Junior Water Polo Player Jared Hook
Northwood Trophy Most Valuable Junior Water Polo Player Ethan Robert
Northwood Trophy Water Polo Team of the Year 1st Team
The Shea Family Trophy Most Enthusiastic Water Polo Player Craig Van Leeuwen
BBHS Trophy Most Improved Senior Water Polo Player Matthew Farren
Le Lievre Trophy Most Valuable Senior Water Polo Player Justin Snyman
David Piper Trophy Senior Cross Country Alexander Leven
Northwood Tristan Rasmussen Trophy Junior Cross Country Ethan Biggar
MIC of the Year   Surfing – Tracey Aliphon
Coach of the Year   Hockey – Michael Wiggett
Beachwood Boys High School Trophy Sportsman of the Year Ntobeko Sibisi
Knights Trophy Outstanding Sporting Achievment by an individual Bevan Willis





Latest Articles

Northwood Variety Show 2023

Read More >

Northwood Feeding Scheme Sponsored by Peppers and Pans

Read More >

Deputy Head Prefect Khawulani Thwala – Academic Prize Giving Speech

Read More >